First Baseman in Foul Territory at the Time of the Pitch


Bob from Colorado asks:

At first base the first baseman has one foot on the outside of the base when the pitcher is on the mound and delivers a pitch. Is this legal?

This is not a legal position for the first baseman to be at the time of the pitch, assuming the first baseman is not touching first base with that foot and his foot is completely in foul territory. All fielders must be completely in fair territory (and the catcher must be in the catcher's box) at the time of the pitch.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: Fielders, MLB Rule 4.03

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus