Fielder Getting Hit By a Pitch


Ben from Atlanta asks:

What would the ruling be if a pitcher's pitch hit a fielder on the way to the plate? For example, a fielder gets extremely close to the plate anticipating a bunt attempt and the fielder ends up being hit in the back by the pitch.

In this case, the umpire would call Defensive Interference, which is the act of any fielder that prevents a batter from hitting a pitch, and award the batter first base.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: MLB Rule 6.08(c)

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus