Fake To Third Balk


Mike the Ump from South Jersey asks:

What does the new interpretation that it is a balk if a pitcher does the third to first move really mean? If he feints to third and the runner on first is 20 feet off the bag, does he have to ignore the runner?

The main part in this rule is actually the fact that the pitcher cannot, while on the rubber, ever fake a throw to third. So, the above play will never happen because, once the pitcher faked to third, he should have been called for a balk. Because of the fact that the part about not being able to fake a pickoff throw to third was added, it consiquently gets rid of the opportunity for the pitcher to do the fake to third throw to first move.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: Pitching, MLB Rule 8.05(b)

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus