Fair or Foul If The Ball Hits the Catcher?


Jim from NY asks:

If a batter hits the ball off home plate and continues into the catchers glove without touching anything else is it a foul or fair ball?

In this situation, if the ball touches the catcher while the ball is on or over foul territory, the ball is foul. Though if the ball is touched while it is on or over fair territory, the ball is fair. The ball hitting the plate does not change anything because the ball is still in motion. If it were to come to a stop on home plate, it would be fair because the plate is in fair territory.

Answered by: Spencer Bravo
Keywords: Fair vs. Foul, MLB Rule 2.00

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus