Error on a Foul Ball


David Denitz from California asks:

Can a fielder make an error when the ball is in foul territory?

Yes, a fielder can make an error on a foul ball. If a fielder misplays a foul fly ball (the only type of foul ball that can result in an error due to the fact that it is the only kind of foul ball that the fielder has the potential to retire a batter on) then that fielder will be charged with an error.

However, with a runner on third and less than two outs, it is up to the Official Scorer to decide if the fielder deliberately let the ball drop to ensure the runner from third did not score and, if the fielder strategically let the ball drop, then he shall not be charged with an error.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: MLB Rule 9.12(a)(1,2)

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus