Earned Runs After an Error Costing the Third Out


Gene from Pennsylvania asks:

Two outs and a fielder makes an error on the 3rd out. The next batter hits a home run. Are any of the runs earned runs?

No, none of the runs are earned in this situation. If there is an error made on the potential third out, then any subsiquent runs will not be charged as earned runs to the pitcher.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: Official Scorer, MLB Rule 10.16(a) Comment Example (3)

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus