Dropping The Ball On The Transition


Sam M from Arlington, WA asks:

On a force to second, the shortstop covers second and they throw him the ball. In one continuous motion the SS gets the ball and bobbles it during his transition to throw to first. The umpire says he caught the ball then lost control during transition but it appeared to me that he never actually had control of the ball. I understand the Ump's point. He caught the ball and touched second = out. However, if he muffed the transition doesn't that indicate he never really had control of the ball?

The umpire called this correctly and the runner from first to second is out. According to reule 2.00 CATCH, "if a fielder has made the catch and drops the ball while in the act of making a throw following the catch, the ball shall be adjudged to have been caught." This means that the runner is out because the fielder dropped the ball while in the act of attempting to make a throw.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: Fielders, 2.00 CATCH

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus