Dropped Third Strike Still an Out?


Myke from Delaware asks:

On a dropped 3rd strike that allows the batter to reach first with less than 2 outs, does the strikeout count as an out? ie - 0 outs when this happens. Is there now 1 out with a runner on first?

This strikeout does not count as an out. More often than not this will be scored as a strike out still but it will not actually be an out and an error will be charged to the catcher for allowing the batter to reach first. 

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus