Dropped Third Strike Rule Change


Wes McAmis from Springfield, MO asks:

On rule 6.09(b), when did the rule change for the batter-runner on a dropped third strike being out if he left the batters circle without attempting to run to first base?

This rule was actually changed very recently. The change came after the 2005 season when, in the ALCS, a batter made it to first on what was assumed to be the third out by the defense, after the batter decived them. The origional rule was that the batter wasn't out until he entered the dugout. This, of course, caused problems because the batter could decive the defense with two outs because he could make it appear that he was headed back to his position on the field and then suddenly break for first.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: Rules

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus