Does The Batter Get A Single On A Runner's Interference


Duke Sallustio from Pompano Beach, Florida asks:

On the third out the runner on base gets hit by the batters ground ball. Does the batter who is running to first get credit for a single?

According to rule 10.05(a)(5) "the official scorer shall credit a batter with a base hit when a fair ball that has not been touched by a fielder touches a runner or an umpire."

Since in this case this exact scenerio happened, the batter should get credit for a base hit.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: Batter, MLB Rule 10.05(a)(5)

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus