Does a Runner Have to Dive Back to First?


Matt from Nebraska asks:

Does a runner have to dive back to first base on a pick off move? One of my teammates recently got called out because he didn't dive back to the bag. The pitcher threw about 2 feet over the 1st baseman's head and our runner was still out.

Something to take into account is that there is possibily a local or league rule for safety that would warrant this runner to be called out, but there is no rule in the rule book stating that the runner must dive back to the base.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus