Does a Fielder's Choice Count as a Hit?


Debbie Worthen from Thousand Oaks asks:

There is a runner on first when the next batter grounded the ball to the shortstop who threw the ball to 2nd base to get the runner. However, the second baseman did not throw to first base because he bobbled the ball, allowing the hitter to make it to first base. Why was this not called a “hit”? Was it a sacrifice?

This is ruled a fielder's choice so the batter reaches first but is not credited with a base hit. This happens whenever a fielder is forced out as a result of the batter's batted ball. The batter is still charged with an at bat however so this lowers his batting average. 

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus