Diving Out


Bob Hennings from Iowa asks:

The batter hits a ground ball to the first baseman. The first baseman bobbles the ball and goes to his knees to get the ball. He dives to first base and touches the bag with his glove beating the batter, however the ball is in his bare hand. Is the batter out or safe?

The batter in this case is out. If a fielder touches the base in anyway on a force play then the batter or runner will be called out.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: Runners

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus