Deflecting A Ball Foul


Murray from Collingwood, Ontario asks:

If the batter pops the ball straight up to the catcher and the catchers feet are in fair play and the catcher hits the ball foul is it foul or fair?

On fair and foul balls that are touched to ake them fair or foul, the only thing that matters is where the ball is touched, not where the fielder who touches it is. If a ball is over fair territory and touched then it is fair and likewise for foul balls. However, this is assuming that the ball has not yet been ruled foul or fair.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: Fair vs. Foul

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus