Deflecting A Ball Fair


Jim from Salisbury, PA asks:

If a pop fly goes foul of 1st base and the first baseman tries to catch it but it bounces out of his glove and lands fair is it still foul?

Yes. Since the ball was in foul territory when the fielder touched it the ball shall be ruled foul. The fact that it landed fair after he touched it in foul territory does not matter since the fair or foul ruling is made once the fielder touches the ball or it goes past first or third base.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: Fair vs. Foul

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus