Confusion At First


Jeff Lester asks:

With 2 outs and runners on 1st and third the batter runs through first and is called safe; however, thinks he is out and returns towards dugout but the runners on first and third score. Do the runs scored count and should the batter running to 1st be out?

Once a runner or batter runner believes he is out and leaves the base or base path, therefore abandoning his right to touch the next base, he will be called out. He should only be called out once the umpire is sure the runner is abandoning his efforts to return to the base or continue to the next base.

Since this is not a force play if, in the umpire's jurisdiction, one run or more scored before the batter runner abandoned his right to the next base the run(s) will still count.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: Runners

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus