Coach's Interference


Hank Fenbert from Federal Way, WA asks:

What rules apply if a base coach interferes(intentionally/unintentionally) with a thrown ball, batted ball or a defensive player?

The answer to this question depends on the situation in which this happens. If a coach is accidently hit by a thrown ballthen the ball is alive and inplay. However, if a coach interferes with a thrown ball the runner shall be out.

It is also required for the base coaches to leave any space that is needed by a fielder to field the ball. If a coach hinders a fielder's ability of fielding a ball the batter should be called out and the runners must return to the base they were last occupying before the play.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: Coaches

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus