Catchers Interference on a Foul Tip


Beth Davis from Davenport Iowa asks:

When the batter swings the bat hits catchers mitt and foul tips does he get the base?

Yes. During any at bat in which the catcher interfers with the batter hitting the pitch, even if the batter still does end up making contact with the ball, he is entitled to first base. However, if the batter reaches at least first base and all other runners advance at least one base, then there will be no reference to the interference. In this situation though, since none of the above happened, the batter is entitled to first base.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: Catcher, MLB Rules 2.00 INTERFERENCE(b) and 6.08(c)

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus