Catcher's Interference From the Chest Protector


Tyson Tinter from Twinsburg, Ohio asks:

Could you please explain the catcher's interference rule? In a game today, the umpire called catcher's interference. The opposing coach argued that since the bat hit the catcher's chest protector and not the catcher's glove, that it was not catcher's interference. So, is this catcher's interference or not?

Yes! This is still catcher's interference since it is catcher's interference when any act of the catcher interferes with the batter. Since the catcher is too close to the batter, he interfered with the batter and caused catchers interference.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus