Can A Batter Switch Boxes Mid-Count?


Craig M. Reynolds from United States asks:

Can a batter switch from Lefty to Righty with a 3-0 count?

The batter can switch which side he bats from at any point in the at-bat with any count except for one situation. He cannot "step from one batterÂ’s box to the other while the pitcher is in position ready to pitch"(MLB Rule 6.06(b)), or else he is out. So the batter can legally switch from lefty to righty with a 3-0 count as long as the pitcher is not in position ready to pitch.

Answered by: Spencer Bravo
Keywords: Batter

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus