Blocking A Base


Rufus from Indiana asks:

While sliding into 3rd base, the baseman's foot is blocking the base. The runner slides and is called out because 3rd baseman's foot is between base and base runner. Is he out or not?

The only time any fielder is allowed to block a base or the plate is when they have the ball. If the fielder blocks the base without the ball then obstruction will be called in favor of the base runner.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: Fielders

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus