Batter Runner Interference?


Paul Cohen from Los Angeles, CA asks:

With a runner at first (R1) a fly ball is hit to right field. The batter runs up the line and tags and rounds first base without over-running R1.The throw to first base from the right fielder strikes the BATTER RUNNER(retired batter runner) as it is trying to retire R1

Is R1 out because of the batter runner's INTERFERENCE...or is it interference?

Yes, R1 is out because of his teammate's interference. According to rule 7.09(e) if any batter or batter runner or runner who has just been put out hinders the fielder's chances of making a play on the runner the runner shall also be declared out for his teammate's interference.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: Runners

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus