Batter-Runner Being Tagged Out After a Run Scores


Jim from Florida asks:

Man on third with two outs. Batter hits a dribbler up the first base line. Instead of taking the force, the first baseman just waits a few feet from first for the batter to run into the tag. While he is waiting, the runner on third crosses the plate before the batter is tagged. Does the run count? Of course it does not count if the batter is forced at first, but if the defender chooses not to use the force and tag the batter instead, is it then a tag play and do any runs count that are scored before the third out on a tag play? Does that run count? If not, why not?

This run does not count! By rule, a run is not counted when the third out is made by the batter-runner (aka the batter) before he touches first. Because the third out was made by the batter-runner before he touched first (even though he was tagged out), this run does not count.

The other cases when a run does not count when the third out is made include any instance when a runner is out as a result of a force and when a preceding runner is called out for failing to touch one of the bases.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: MLB Rule 4.09(a)

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus