Batter Returning To First In Fair Territory


BJ De Lorenzo from Liverpool, England asks:

Batter-runner safe at first and is walking back to the base in fair territory. Is this ok?

 Yes, there is no rule regarding which way the batter must turn (into fair territory or foul territory) while returning to first base after running through it. However, if the batter makes any attempt to advance to second after running through first (e.g. taking a few hard steps towards the direction of second) he is in jeopardy of being tagged out by a fielder

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: Runner, MLB Rule 7.08(j)

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus