Batted Ball Hits the Umpire


RO from Wisconsin asks:

A batted ball hits the umpire in fair territory, what is the ruling?

The rule regarding when umpire interference is called is very similar to when a runner interferes with a play. It is umpires interference when the ball touches the umpire before touching an infielder, including the pitcher, touches the umpire before the ball has passed any infielder other then the pitcher, or if the umpire is working in the infield and the ball bounces past or over the pitcher and hits the umpire.

In the case of umpires interference, it is a dead ball and all runners advance one base, including the batter getting first.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: MLB Rule 5.06(c)(6)

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus