Base Awards on a Wild Throw


Russ from Illinois asks:

When a fielder throws the baseball out of play/into dug out or stands. When does an umpire determine where runner on base was or how does he determine how many bases he received. Is it determined as soon as ball enters out of play or is it when it leaves the throwers hand?

The runners will always advance two bases when a thrown ball goes into the dugout or stands. When the wild throw is the first play by an infielder, the two base award is awarded based off of where the runners were when the ball was hit but, in every other situation where a thrown ball goes out of play, the award is given based off of where the runners were when the throw was made. However, if all runners have advanced at least one base before the wild throw, then the runners advance from where they were when the ball was thrown.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: MLB Rule 5.06(G)

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus