Ball Passing An Infielder And Then Hitting A Runner


Mark from Glenview, IL asks:

In a Little League game the ball has passed the second baseman and then hits the runner going from first to second. Is the runner safe because the ball has passed the infielder?

In this situation, if the ball goes by or through an infielder (I usually define this by if the fielder could have touched the ball with a step and a reach) and then touches the runner directly behind him then no interference should be called. However, when making this call, the umpire must be sure that a different fielder did not have a chance to make a play on the ball.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: Runners

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus