Ball Off the Bat Hits Runner While Standing On the Base


Serg from El Paso ,TX asks:

runner on first, no outs, batter hits line drive towards first--the ball hits the runner while standing on the base. is he out or what is the call

The runner on first is out because rule 7.08(f) states that "[a]ny runner is out when...[h]e is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder." There is no exception made for when he is touching the base assuming it has not touched or passed an infielder.

Answered by: Spencer Bravo
Keywords: Runner, MLB Rule 7.08(f)

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus