Ball Getting Lodged Under Base


David from Charlotte, NC asks:

A ball lodges under 1st base when the first baseman is attempting to receive throw from pitcher. Whats the call?

 This situation should never really occur because the umpires should make sure that all bases are fastend securly to the ground before the game. However, if this situation was to occur the umpire should probably use rule 9.01(c) which says that the umpire has the authority to rule on any situations not covered in the rule book. In this case I would probably call the ball dead and give every base runner one base.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: Dead Balls

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus