Ball Bouncing Fair But Being Touched In Foul Territory


Luke from West Virginia asks:

Batter hits a chopper down the right side. The ball bounces in fair territory before the bag but is heading foul. First baseman fields the ball in the air in foul territory with the ball and first baseman in foul territory. However, the balls last bounce was in fair territory. What is the call?

Assuming the ball is touched over foul territory by the first baseman before to passes first base, then this ball is foul. It does not matter where the ball bounced initially in this case, only that the ball was touched by a fielder first with the ball over foul territory and before it passed first base.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus