Automatic Double Off of a Base


A baseball fan asks:

A batted ball hits third base on fly and then then flies into the stands without hitting a fielder or the ground. What is the call? Ground rule double or home run?

Due to the fact that the base is considered part of the ground and, when the ball hits the ground, it is considered a bounding ball, this is an automatic (ground rule) double.

One of the common misconceptions about automatic doubles is that they have to be over the outfield fence. This is not true and any fair ball that bounces into the stands anywhere is an automatic double

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: MLB Rule 5.06(b)(4)(F)

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus