Advancing on a Deflected, Caught, Line Drive


Bob Pearson from Illinois asks:

There is a runner on third with no outs when a line drive off the pitchers head is caught in the air by the shortstop. Could the runner at third safely advance on contact with the pitcher or only after the shortstop catches the ball?

The runner can advance as soon as the ball touches the pitcher as long as the runner tags up after the initial contact with the ball by the pitcher.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: MLB Definitions of Terms: CATCH

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus