Advancing Further Than First on a Catcher's Interference


Jerry from va asks:

Cather's interference is called, but the batter-runner hits a single and is thrown out trying to stretch it into a double. Since catcher's interference was called, does the batter-runner return to first base safely? If so, coaches should instruct the batter-runner to keep running until thrown out if catcher's interference is called, right?

In the case of catcher's interference, the batter is ONLY entitled to first base. Because of this, once he advances past first, he is at the peril of being thrown out as if the interference never occurred. So, in the scenario provided, the batter-runner would be called out at second base since he advanced past his awarded first base. 

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: MLB Rule 6.08(c)

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus