Advancing A Strike Three Passed Ball


Bob Fontaine from Silver Spring, MD asks:

If the catcher misses a pitched ball on strike three and there are runners on second or third, is/are the runner(s) allowed to advance? If not, can the runner advance if the catcher's throw to first goes awry?

The runner(s) is/are allowed to advance in this scenerio. On strike three the ball is live and in play unless the third strike hit the batter or the batter bunted the ball foul which means that the runners are allowed to advance.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: Runners

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus