Abandoning the Bases on a Walk


George McDermott from Fullerton, CA asks:

With the bases loaded, a batter walks and the man on third base is awarded home as a result of the walk. Is the man on third required to touch home plate in order to score, and can he be called out or put out by catcher if he doesn't touch home plate?

On this play, the runner is absolutely required to touch home plate in order for the run to count. Although there is nothing the team in the field can do to get this runner out, if, in the umpire's judgment, the runner has abandoned their right to run the bases (e.g. walks off the field from third without touching home in this scenario), then the umpire will rule the runner out.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: MLB Rule 7.08(a)(2)

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus