Run Scoring Before The Batter Is Tagged Out


Scott from Michigan asks:

Runner on third touches home before batter is tagged out by first baseman does the run count?

Assuming that the batter has not yet touched first base then no, the run does not score since a run cannot score on a play where the batter-runner is put out before touching first base. However, if the runner had already touched first base and then was tagged out attempting to advance to second then the run does score because the runner from third scored before this happened

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: Runs

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus