You have baseball questions, we have baseball answers.

Stump The Ump is the source for answers about baseball rules, game situations, or umpiring.

Patch.com logo As featured on San Carlos Patch!

Thanks for visiting!

We've gotten so many great questions, we're behind in getting them answered, so for now, we're turrning off the ability to ask new questions.

 

Do you have what it takes to make the call?

We are looking to enlist the help of a few select umpires or baseball rule aficionados to answer some of the 300+ questions we have in queue.

If you think you do, fill out our contact form and let us know. Please include your real name and email address as well as your experience and background. We will be reviewing the submissions and will get back to you (once we make some technical changes to the back end to allow for this).

Recent rules questions and answers

Welcome to Stump The Ump!

Welcome to StumpTheUmp.com.

Since this is the first post I will give an overview of what will be on this site. The home page will have the a few of the latest questions I have answered about baseball rules, game situations, or umpiring ... (more)

Stopping Mid-Windup

Lawrence Siedenburg from Las Vegas, NV asks:

If a pitcher is in his wind-up and ready to pitch the but stops before the pitch with no runners on base is it called a ball?

No.... (more)

Strike Three, Caught Stealing, Double Play

Duane Jones from Michigan asks:

Is a strike em out throw em out considered a double play?

Yes, it is considered a double play. This is because a double play is a play in whic... (more)


| Baseball Rules Questions | Rules of Baseball | Baseball Questions | Baseball Rules | Little League Rules | Baseball Umpire |
 
| Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Copyright © 2014, StumpTheUmp.com - All rights reserved. |
FABGFx logo Created by FAB Graphics & IT Consulting.
Are you a coach? Here's an easy way to manage the availability of players for your teams, check out GoTeamManager.com.