You have baseball questions, we have baseball answers.

Stump The Ump is the source for answers about baseball rules, game situations, or umpiring.

 

Latest Answers

Throwing A Glove At A Live Ball

Dave Mangin from Fortuna, CA asks:

What is the call if a fielder removes his glove and throws it at a batted ball and makes contact with the live ball?

If a fielder throws hi... Read More

Diving Out

Bob Hennings from Iowa asks:

The batter hits a ground ball to the first baseman. The first baseman bobbles the ball and goes to his knees to get the ball. He dives to first base and touch... Read More

Throwing The Bat

Trey Lamb from Melbourne, AR asks:

Babe ruth baseball league inc. sanctioned game. A player swings and the bat is slung behind the umpire and catcher, ground ball to second, batter out 4-... Read More

Tagging Up On A Line Drive

BR from Philly asks:

1 out, runner on 2nd only. Line drive hit to shortstop, runner on 2nd runs on contact.....SS then throws to 2nd base as runner is going back to 2nd. Does this runner ... Read More

Hitting Your Own Teammate

Mareia from Iron River, MI asks:

When a batter hits the ball and the ball hits his teammate what happens to the batter?

Assuming that the ball didn't hit the runner after th... Read More