Neil from Florida asks:
Man on third with one out when a fly ball is hit to left field. The left fielder drops the ball and the runner on third scores. How to you score the play?
If the official scorer thinks that the runner would have scored on a sacrifice fly if the ball had been caught then this would be a sacrifice fly with an error on the left fielder that allowed the batter to reach first (SF7 and E7).
If the official scorer does not think that the runner would have scored on a sacrifice fly on this batted ball then it is just a straight error (E7).
Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: MLB Rule 10.08(d)(2)