Runner Hindering A Fielder Getting A Batted Ball While On Base

Question?

John Ross from Shippensburg, PA asks:

High School baseball game in PA. One out with runners on 2nd and 3rd. Batter hits a popup to 3rd. Base runner on 3rd sees the ball is coming down near him so he stands on the base. The ball actually hits the base runner on top of the helmet then lands in fair territory. The 3rd baseman attempted to catch the popup but could not reach it as the base runner was taller than him. The runner did not intentionally interfere with the fielder, he just stood still on the base. The ump called all runners and batter safe but opposing coach said base runner at 3rd should be out. What's the proper call?

The umpire made the correct call. As long as the runner did not intentionally hinder the fielder from making the play while on a base he is safe. However, if the runner had intentionally hindered the fielder, then the umpire would call both the batter and the runner out.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: Runners, MLB Rule 7.08(b)comment

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus
| Baseball Rules Questions | Rules of Baseball | Baseball Questions | Baseball Rules | Little League Rules | Baseball Umpire |
 
| Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Copyright © 2017, StumpTheUmp.com - All rights reserved. |
Bravo IT Consulting logo Created by Bravo IT Consulting.
Are you a coach? Here's an easy way to manage the availability of players for your teams, check out GoTeamManager.com.