Run Taken Away By Appeal


Dave Deatherage from Lenexa, KS asks:

With a runner on 3rd base and 2 outs the batter hits a triple and the runner scores. On appeal the batter is found to be out because he failed to touch first base. Does the run count?

In this scenerio the run does not count because, with two outs, a run cannot score unless the batter-runner has legally touched first. Since, in this case, the batter-runner missed first completely, the run does not count and the inning is over. However, if this happened with less then two outs the run would score.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo
Keywords: Runners

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus