Failing to Tag Up on an Infield Fly


James Waters from Mesa, AZ asks:

Based loaded with 1 out and the batter hits an infield fly. The runner on first thinks there are 2 out and is caught between 1st & 2nd base as the ball is caught by the shortstop. Ball is thrown to the 1st baseman that is standing on 1st base before the runner makes it back to 1st base. Runner is never tagged before making it back to 1st base. Is the runner out or safe?

The runner is out in this situation. Although it is true that the batter is out due to the infied fly, infield flies are still treated like normal fly balls and the runners must tag up as with a normal fly ball.

Answered by: Jonathan Bravo

Add your comment...

comments powered by Disqus